Rock Climbing at Taraw, El Nido Palawan

Ok! So before planning on an adventure like this, make sure you really want to do it – because backing out is not an option! neither taking short cuts…

So the adventure went like this…

It was not a sunny day for a climb but since I really made up my mind, I still pushed through… The gloomy weather was tolerable, though…

First, I had to ensure that I have the right outfit, not just for photo-ops, but for my safety as well. Slippers may take you up there but it’s still advisable to wear shoes with rubber sole since limestone rocks are sharp and slippery when wet, too. Of course, you have to protect your skin so might as well wear leggings, rashguard, sunblock and mosquito repellent. Also, don’t forget sunglasses to protect your eyes. Bring a bag that will not hinder your movements – water in it, biscuits, camera!, powerbank, waterproof pouch for your valuables (in case of rain), money’s not necessary since there are no stores along the “rocky road.”

After getting ready with your “picturesque climb,” the adventure will NEVER! be possible without a LICENSED guide. In El Nido, the safety of the tourists is the number 1 priority so they ALWAYS require licensed guides to come along. My guide was Kuya Dudz Malindin (+63930 0306 576), a local – who also happened to be a manager of one of the travel agencies in El Nido. He was the one responsible for the photos of me left behind during my climb, and the one who also encouraged me to keep going.

Along the way, you will encounter slippery stones, different species of mosquitoes, different species of beautiful plants, marble rocks, and of course – the beautiful view of Bacuit Bay. Wonderful!

From 1130H, I made it to the top by 1245H. It took me more than an hour to make it, (which was supposedly 40 minutes only, as they say) but since I’m a beginner, I had to catch my breath every once in a while.

It was not easy. Hence, I will never forget this “death defying” adventure – a super worth it experience, it is! Just proved that nothing worth it comes easy. Truly, the struggle is REAL!

and WORTH IT!

1130H, a not-so-sunny-day! but still good for a climb... Thought this was just for the beginning
1130H, a not-so-sunny-day-for-a-climb, but I’m unstoppable so I pushed through
But ends up realizing that the next few hours will be spent with rocks
the next few minutes…hours were spent with rocks
Very steep limestone rocks, but will never break down for it is very STRONG - like me!
Very steep limestone rocks, but will never break for it is very STRONG – like me!
You just gotta find the right limestone to hold on to..
You just gotta find the right limestone to hold on to
I can't believe I am halfway... Wuhoooo!
I can’t believe I am halfway… Wuhoooo!
I just had to catch my breath, but Kuya insists that I pose for a halfway photo
I just had to catch my breath, but Kuya insists that I pose for a “made it halfway” photo
Unbelievable. Would you imagine walking along those sharp rocks behind me. Well, I did!
Unbelievable. Would you imagine walking along those sharp rocks behind me. Well, I did!
And... voila! here it is! the view from the top of Taraw, lucky I had a chance to capture this moment..
And… voila! here it is! the view from the top of Taraw, lucky I had a chance to capture this moment..
All worth the bruises, cuts, and muscle pain...
All worth the bruises, cuts, and muscle pain…
And a moment to absorb this beauty - a blessing before my eyes, while I am closer to Him. Thanks, Papa Jesus for this wonderful world...
And a moment to absorb this beauty – a blessing before my eyes, while I am closer to Him. Thanks, Papa Jesus for this wonderful world..

Leave a Reply

